Mr. Botha (Eng&StudySkills)

The Official BHCS Secondary Homepage

Mr. Botha (Eng&StudySkills)

Study Skills

  • Deadline Monday, February 25 – MLA style essay on “Pollution in Korea”.
  • Study Skills MLA Essay
  • Due Monday,March 4 – Peer Editing proofreading test
  • Due Monday, March 18 – Bring POP-QUIZ paper
  • Due Friday, March 29 – Do the second page of the Summary Handout – (Handout for Selecting and Rewriting Information)
  • Due Monday, April 1 – Complete Snow Summary Writing
  • Due Friday, April 5 – Transition word class test – Graded (Only the exercises we did in class)
  • Due Monday, April 15 – Open the link (CopyPaste) below and do the reading (How many words did you read per minute?) plus do comprehension questions.
  • http://www.readingsoft.com/
  • Friday, May 3 – Continue Public Speaking Practice
  • Wednesday, May 8 – Continue Public Speaking Practice. Bring Computers and choose TEDtalk speech.
  • Friday, May 10 – Continue Practicing Tedtalk speech
  • Monday, May 13 – Bring Tedtalk script to class
  • Due Wednesday, May 15 – Present Tedtalk Speeches
  • Friday, May 17 – Continue Tedtalk Speeches

8 Grade English 

  • 문법적 해답 및 설명 Q1-12
  • Buy MAUS 2 Reading Book
  • Due Tuesday, February 26 –  Bring Maus 2 to class
  • Due Friday, February 22 – Send completed speeches to Mr.Botha
  • Due Thursday, February 28 – Read Chapter 1 of Maus 2. Bring Speeches
  • Due Tuesday, March 5 – Read Chapter 2 of Maus 2. Bring Speeches.
  • Due Friday, March 8 – Bring Longman and speeches
  • Due Tuesday, March 12 – Read Maus 2 Chapter 3 and bring speeches
  • Due Thursday, March 14 – Final Speech Practice
  • Due Tuesday, March 19 – Final Speeches – 100% fully memorized – Bring 2 copies of speech to class
  • Due Thursday, March 21 – Bring Longman
  • Due Friday, March 29 – Read Chapter 5 of Maus2
  • Due Tuesday, April 2 – Complete MAUS2 Chapter 5 worksheet
  • Due Monday, April 8 – Maus Essay – 2 to 2 and 1/2 pages MLA format (Font: Times New Roman size 12 – Double Space) – Graded – send by 11:59pm
  • Please buy “The Outsiders” by S.E. Hinton (New Reading Book)
  • Due Tuesday, April 16 – Read Chapter 1 of The Outsiders.
  • Due Thursday, April 25 – Read Chapters 2 and 3 of The Outsiders.
  • Tuesday, April 30 – Work on Explain/Example Essay in class
  • Due Friday, May 3 – Explain/Example/Recommended School Essay Complete and send by 11:59pm.
  • Due Tuesday, May 7 – Complete Handout Ch 2 and 3 of “The Outsiders”
  • Due Thursday, May 9 – Complete Chapter 4 handout and read chapter 5.
  • Due Tuesday, May 14 – Longman pg 146 Practice 5B
  • Due Thursday, May 16 – Read Chapter 6 of Outsiders.
  • Due Tuesday, May 21 – Read Chapter 7 of Outsiders.

 

9 Grade English

  • Due date Tuesday, February 26 – Pg 271-291 Reading, All Quiet on the Western Front
  • Due Friday, February 22 – Send completed speeches to Mr.Botha
  • Due Thursday, February 28 – Read Ch 12 of All Quiet on the Western Front – Bring Speeches
  • Due Tuesday, 5 March – Small General knowledge test on “All Quiet on the Western Front”. Bring Speech
  • Due Friday, 8 March – Final Speech Practice with 2 note cards and PPT
  • Due Tuesday, March 12 – Final Speeches with Grades
  • Due Thursday, March 12 – Final Speeches with Grades – Outliers reading book start
  • Buy Outliers written by Malcolm Gladwell
  • Due Thursday, March 21 – Bring Longman
  • Due Friday, March 29 – Bring Outliers and finish reading the introduction, Pg 3-12
  • Due Tuesday, April 2 – Complete worksheet Part 2 of Outliers
  • Due Thursday, April 4 – Complete last page on handout – How to live to 100
  • Friday April 4 – In class essay – Process Paragraph – PG 105 and 107 important
  • Due Thursday, April 11 – Read Chapter 1 of Outliers
  • Due Thursday, April 18 – Study 10 vocabulary words – Be able to make sentences in class
  • Due Thursday, April 25 – Read Chapters 3 Outliers – In class Summary
  • Due Friday, May 3 – Read Chapter 4 of Outliers
  • Due Thursday, May 9 – Read Chapter 5 of Outliers
  • Tuesday, May 14 – Bring Longman
  • Due Friday, May 17 – Read Chapter 6 of Outliers.
  • Due Tuesday, May 21 – Complete Ch 6 handout of Outliers.

10 Grade English

  • Due date Monday, February 25 – Pg 279-300 Read LOP and complete the LOP worksheet.
  • Due date Wednesday, February 27 – Use MLA style Cause and Effect essay, page 130, Psychology writing assignment, 2 pages, at least three sources.
  • Due Friday, February 22 – Send completed speeches to Mr.Botha
  • Due Wednesday, March 6 – Pg 300-321 Life of Pi plus handout. Bring Speech completed PPT as well as 2 note cards.
  • Due Monday, March 11 – Bring Speech completed PPT as well as 2 note cards.
  • Due Wednesday, March 20 – Read Chapter 93 and 94 Life of Pi
  • Due Friday, March 22 – Read Chapter 95-99 LOP
  • Due Friday, March 29 – Read Chapter 99 – 100 LOP
  • Please buy Things Fall Apart by Chinua Achebe (Next Reading Book)
  • Due Friday, March 29 – Handout Exercise 1-6 and Multiple choice CH 95-99
  • Due Monday, April 1 – Complete LOP handout Chapter 99-100
  • Due Monday, April 8 – Life of Pi Essay – 2 to 2 and 1/2 pages – MLA style – Graded – send by 11:59pm
  • Due Wednesday, April 10 – Complete Transition worksheet
  • Due Monday, April 15 – Read Chapter 1 and 2 of Things fall apart
  • Due Wednesday, April 17 – Read Chapter 3 and 4 of Things fall Apart.
  • Monday, April 29 – Work on Compare/Contrast Essay
  • Due Thursday, May 2 – Complete and send Compare/Contrast Essay by 11:59PM (MLA style – 1 1/2 to 2 pages)
  • Friday, May 3 – Start working on Background PPT 3-5 min presentation about “Things Fall Apart” (Handout) – Bring Computer to class
  • Wednesday, May 8th – Work on TFA PPT presentation (3-5min long)
  • Send PPT by Sunday 11:59pm
  • Due Monday, May 13 – PPT Topic presentation of ‘Things Fall Apart’
  • Due Wednesday, May 15 – Read Chapters 5 and 6 TFA
  • Due Monday, May 20 – Complete Ch 6 handout and read Ch 7 of TFA.
  • Due Wednesday, May 22 – Read Chapters 7/8/9 of TFA

College Writing

  • Due Date Thursday, February 7 – An overview. Introduction + First paragraph completed
  • Due Date Thursday, February 14 – Completion of the Second body Paragraph
  • Due Date Tuesday, February 19 – Completion of the third body paragraph
  • Due Date Tuesday 26th February – Completion of the first draft
  • Due Date Thursday, February 28 – Editing Peer
  • Due Date Tuesday, March 5 – Completed research paper by 11:59pm.
  • Due Friday, March 22 – Useful Phrases Test 8.1 to 8.10 (Not 8.2)
  • 3-4 Questions from each section with 6-8 possible choices as an answer
  • Chapter 8 Test Useful Phrases
  • Due Thursday, 4 April – Complete worksheet page 106 – Counter Arguments
  • Due Friday, 5 April – Read through Counter Argument worksheet – Graded Essay (Fri/Tue)
  • Due Friday April 5 – Read Counter Argument worksheet – Start EssayFocus on Counter Argument
  • Work on Thursday April 11 completing counter argument essay in class – Due Thursday April 11 at 11:59pm – Send email – Google Docs
  • Thursday, April 25 – Complete MLA worksheet in class
  • Thursday, May 2 – Start working on Rap Battle (Vocab Handouts)
  • Friday, May 3 – Continue working on Rap Battle
  • Tuesday. May 7 – Continue working on Rap Battle
  • Thursday. May 9 – Continue working on Rap Battle
  • Friday, May 10 – Test on Exercise 5 (Academic Vocabulary)
  • Tuesday, May 14 – Final Rap Battle performance in Auditorium
  • RAP BATTLE – Rules
  • Chapter 5_ Verbs
  • https://www.rhymezone.com/
  • Due Friday, May 17 – Complete Visual Information worksheet
  • Tuesday May 21 – In class completion of Numbers handout.

콘택트 렌즈

  • 이메일 : mr.botha.bhcs@gmail.com

Ask a question/Reply